WhatsApp comes with the option to block a contact if you don’t want that user to message you. In this article, we will see how we can know if a person has blocked us on WhatsApp or not. It can get a little complex or tricky at times, but this article should solve your doubts.
With over 2.5 billion users worldwide, WhatsApp is one of the most used and popular instant messaging applications out there. It is available for Android as well as iOS. You also have the option to use WhatsApp on PC via WhatsApp Web.
Finding if a person has blocked you on WhatsApp is really simple. Follow the steps mentioned below to see if someone has blocked you or not.
What happen when someone blocks you on WhatsApp?
Here is everything that happens after someone blocks you on WhatsApp.
- The profile picture or DP of the person will instantly disappear
- About section of the contact will disappear
- You won’t be able to see their status and vice versa
- You won’t be able to call them
- You can add them to a group
Ways to Find if Someone Blocked us on WhatsApp
Below given are some methods you can try to see if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp or not.
Try Sending a Message
As you know already, you won’t be able to send messages to blocked content. You will be able to send the message but it won’t get delivered. So let’s try sending a message to see if a person has blocked you on WhatsApp.
Just open the contact and send a message to the person. If only a single tick appears on the message then it means the message was not delivered. But, with only this, we can’t confirm that the person blocked you because if the Internet is turned off on the other end, the message won’t be delivered.
Even after waiting a few hours, if the message is still not delivered, it is a strong signal that the person has blocked you.
Check Profile Picture
In WhatsApp, once you block a person, that person won’t be able to see your profile picture. This can be used to find if a person has blocked us or not.
If the other person’s DP was visible to you and if it disappeared all of a sudden then this is an indication that the person blocked you. Again, we can’t be 100 percent sure since there are chances for the other person to remove DP as well.
Moving forward, you will find more ways to check if a person blocked you on WhatsApp.
Create a group with the person
This one option will surely let us know if the other person has blocked you on WhatsApp.
WhatsApp does not allow users to create groups with people who blocked you on their devices. So, in short, creating a WhatsApp group and adding them to the group will help us understand if that person has blocked you or not.
Open WhatsApp and click on the plus button to create a new group. Under the participant’s section, select that particular person and try to create a group. If you successfully created the group then it means the other person has not blocked you on WhatsApp. But if you get an error while creating the group the suggests that the person might have blocked you.
One more thing to note here is that with the recent update WhatsApp has given its users an option to not let people not on their contact to add them to a group. This means, if the person has deleted your contact number from their phone and enabled the above-mentioned option, you won’t be able to add the person to the group.
Try Making a Call
Similar to messages, calls will be blocked for blocked contacts as well. If you try calling a number that blocked you, it will only show calling status. Ringing status won’t appear. If Ringing status appears it means the contact didn’t block you.
Open WhatsApp and open the contact that you want to check. Just click on the call button from the top and wait for a couple of seconds. Initially, the status will be calling and see if it changes to Ringing after a few seconds.
Both video as well as audio call works. Do note that if the Internet is turned off on the other side then you will only see Calling status.
As a bonus tip, if you want to message a blocked contact from your device then you may use the trick to obtain a US number and then create a WhatsApp account based on that. You can create a WhatsApp account with a virtual number and then send a message to the blocked person. If you don’t have any other number to use for WhatsApp then this method will definitely come in handy.
These are some ways in which you can see if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp. Sometimes you can easily find it but at times things might get a little complex. Things like message deliverability and profile picture will give you a strong hint if a person has blocked you on WhatsApp or not.
All the methods mentioned above work on Android as well as iOS. There are no specific ways to find it on Android or iOS only. So next time if you doubt if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp then make sure to try the steps mentioned in the article.